AmyJune Hineline receiving her award at DrupalCon 2021

AmyJune Hineline wins Aaron Winborn Award at DrupalCon North America

There are thousands of folks who volunteer in so many capacities in the Drupal community, from helping with registration at camps, to contributing code, to posting on social media, and in hundreds of other areas. Each of those contributions, no matter how small, move the Drupal project forward in positive ways.

But every year, one person is recognized by the Drupal Association for contributing the most over the course of a year. Kanopi is proud to announce that our own AmyJune Hineline, Community Ambassador, has won the 2021 DrupalCon Aaron Winborn Award. This award is, “presented annually to an individual who demonstrates personal integrity, kindness, and above-and-beyond commitment to the Drupal community.”

How does AmyJune demonstrate those qualities? Here are some examples:

  • She regularly gives presentations (about 15 per year in the Drupal space alone).
  • Many of those presentations are around accessibility and inclusivity, as she strives to make Drupal both accessible and inclusive to all. 
  • Besides giving talks, she volunteers and organizes at camps and cons (about ten per year).
  • She runs several contributor workshops to help interested folks as they navigate the process of contributing to Drupal for the first time. 
  • She does all this with patience and a smile. 
  • And lastly, this doesn’t even include all her work in the WordPress community. 

Kanopi Studios is proud to be a place that fosters community work (community is actually one of Kanopi’s seven values) and we’re thrilled that AmyJune has been recognized with the Aaron Winborn Award for her hard work and positive contributions moving both the Drupal project and community forward. 

This tweet says it all:

Congratulations AmyJune!

Check out some of her past presentations on accessibility and inclusion below. 

AmyJune Hineline is actually the second Kanopian to win the award; Nikki Stevens won the award in 2017.